Skip to content

Tourist Blahs

September 19, 2007

Sunset over Petrin HillIt looked like this just two days ago. Now it is dreary and rainy once again. During this morning’s tour of Prague Castle with my Czech Art & Architecture class my professor said he knew that summer would return once again.

I don’t know how he knows, but I hope it is not winter just yet.

The rain brings out the worst in tourist crowds. They were everywhere this morning, blanketing the cathedral with their dripping umbrellas. As they rushed through the places they watched their feet more than the beautiful building that housed them for the moment, scared they would slip on the wet stones. It’s a fine line to walk between being a tourist or a resident here. Hell, I still feel like a tourist in New York sometimes even though I have lived there for two years. Hopefully I will take much more from this place than the distracted tourists I watched over this morning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

