Skip to content

Dublin, Ireland

October 29, 2007

 

We began our fall break in Dublin a week ago Friday.

My first experience in Ireland went like this:

“Are you here for business or pleasure?” the customs officer asked me.

“Pleasure,” I said excitedly.

“Ah good, we’re all about pleasure in this country,” he said with a sparkle in his eye as he marked my passport with a stamp dripping in bright green ink.That about sums my three days in Dublin. Mischievous, fun-loving locals and lots of green. Oh yes, and quite a bit of Guinness too.

The Dublin Castle wasn’t much to write about but I liked the paint color choices.Goodness! My Guiness!

We also toured the Guinness factory museum that ended with a free pint at a bar at the top of the building that had floor-to-ceiling windows and 360 degree views of Dublin like this:

James Joyce's Dublin from the Guiness Factory Gravity Bar

We also took a peek at the Book of Kells at Trinity College’s library which was beautiful.

However, my favorite part was the library at Trinity College or the “Long Room”. I wasn’t able to take photos inside of it, but I found this one on the internet. It had two floors of floor to ceiling books and it smelled of old paper and wood. There were marble busts of Shakespeare and the like. This place was heaven.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

