Skip to content

You say you want a (velvet) revolution?

November 16, 2007

Tomorrow, November 17, is the 18th anniversary of the Velvet Revolution here in Prague that led to the downfall of communism in the Czech Republic. Read more about those events here.

Tara also sent this article to me the other day. It is about the Plastic People of the Universe, the band who supposedly helped spark the Velvet Revolution. My Reporting the Arts professor here at NYU in Prague was a member of this group and still performs with them today.

I’m writing about it today because I’m leaving for Berlin late tonight (Even though after Budapest I vowed to never take a night bus again). I’m staying at a hostel themed after the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy which I find ever so amusing. I’ll be back Monday morning early. Like at 5 am. Damn you overnight transportation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

