Skip to content

A week and a day

December 5, 2007

So there is a week and one day left in my program.

Woah, but mostly woe.

Instead of studying for finals I decided to take a walk today in between classes. After Molly and I left Bohemia Bagel we wandered through the Old Town Square Christmas Market which is quite possibly the best place in the world (petting zoo, large tree, rings of dough doused in cinnamon sugar, mulled wine, sausage, etc.).

Then I just kept walking and walking and walking.

I passed the Dancing Building near the river, crossed the bridge, walked up the other side of in Male Strana and then climbed to the top of Petrin Hill. Even though I’ve been there before the view still caught me off guard. All of Prague is visible from this point. Within one glance you can see the Namesti Miru church, the Zizkov TV Tower, Charles Bridge, the Old Town Square church, and Prague Castle to just name a few things. I took my time to absorb it all knowing that I probably wouldn’t be back there anytime soon.

It started to rain softly. Everything reminded me of this photo by Czech photographer Josef Sudek.

While I should have returned to class I just kept on exploring. I ended up at the top of Prague Castle hill at the Strahov Monastery and then meandered my way down to St. Vitus Cathedral and all the way back to Tesco and then NYU.

I guess this was my own sort of subconscious farewell to Prague.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucille permalink
    December 5, 2007 7:45 am

    ‘Woe, the boat won’t whoa.’
    – T. H. White

  2. December 5, 2007 3:57 pm

    Your pictures are so nice. What camera do you use?

  3. lyndseymatthews permalink*
    December 6, 2007 1:45 am

    Thank you! I use a digital SLR Nikon D80.

Leave a Reply

